I was asked, quite kindly, by a gentleman of my highest regard to write for this blog because I guess I give off the kind of vibes that would lead someone to believe I know a thing or two about Hip-Hop. Whether or not this is true about me will probably remain to be seen. I can’t say confidently, yet, that I have the clout to speak with any degree of absolute authority about rap. I can never know enough about the genre or the culture, or the figures that have changed and evolved it throughout its short history. What I can do, though, is provide my insight, expertise, and advice to the reader about the select aspects of hip-hop music on which, I may say humbly, I think I’ve got a grasp.

Let’s make this quick and painless:

1. Hip-Hop is not dead, as the prophet Nas would put it, but in fact growing quite steadily.

2. Just because he’s deceased doesn’t mean he’s good. (I’m looking at you, Eazy.)

3. I don’t know who the “best rapper alive” is, but it certainly isn’t Lil Wayne. No disrespect.

4. A rap record is good when it is good ten years after it is released.

Works I consider immortal. (In no particular order)

Nas-Illmatic

Jay-Z- Reasonable Doubt, The Blueprint

The Notorious B.I.G.- Life After Death

Tupac- All Eyez on Me, Thug Life Vol. 1

Eminem- The Marshall Mathers LP

Dr. Dre- The Chronic

Eric B. & Rakim- Paid in Full

